AWP National Program Directors’ Prize for Undergraduate Literary Magazines 2011 Winners

The Association of Writers & Writing Programs is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 National Program Directors’ Prizes for Undergraduate Literary Magazines. Instituted by the directors of AWP member creative writing programs, the prizes are awarded annually in the categories of content and design. Each winning magazine-one in content, one in design- receives a $500 cash award.

The Award Winning 2010 Staff:
Editor-in-Chief: Zoë Miller, Managing Editor: Liz Axelrod, Fiction Editor: Mario A. Zambrano, Poetry Editor: Marisa Frasca, Non-Fiction Editor: Luke Sirinides, Interview Editor: Patrick Hipp, Online Editor, Tony Grassi, Faculty Advisor: Rene Steinke

2011 Design Winner:
12th Street
The New School Writing Program

“12th Street by the Riggio Honors Program of the New School is a striking package that draws you in at first glance, guides you through its marvels and keeps you close in its wonders. In these days of lamentations at “the death of the book” this is a journal that has considered the purpose of this most efficient piece of literary-delivery technology and declared “Printed Text Lives.” 12th Street’s front and back covers tell you what to expect with an artful arrangement of pull quotes; Venn diagrams of stories; wry comments on contents—all set as a beautiful and appealing piece of text art. Between the covers, the journal gets down to business, with fine use of typeface and ink, a helpful and helpfully laid out Table of Contents, individual works set on the page to enhance reading, and art that both stands on its own as well as comments on the literary material. Kudos also for the complementary, comprehensive, and exciting website accompanying the issue.”
-Design Judge: Judith Baumel, Adelphi University

2011 Content Winner:
12th Street
The New School Writing Program

“AWP awards its prize for the best content for a literary magazine to 12th Street, for the variety of its forms of poetry, the high level of overall achievement in its stories, poems, and exposition, and the seriousness, in the best sense, of its overall approach to writing. Both in the sequence of its presentation and the substantiality of its offerings set a high standard.””
-Content Judge: Roger Lathbury, George Mason University